Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s new album Straight to the Heart may not be due until August 2nd, but the dancing Queen is already plotting her next musical move and has admitted to Digital Spy that for her next LP she’ll be leaving club/dance music behind.

“What I’m planning next though is an album that’s really different. I think I need to do something different now and move on from the dance stuff. I might come back to it, but I think this album is a good way to bow out of the dance sound for now. I think it’s finishing on a high.”

Since hitting the scene a decade ago with her chart topping hit “Groovejet (If This Ain’t Love)” Sophie’s found a huge amount of success with her unique brand of sophisticated dance-pop, so anything away from that would be a huge departure from anything we’ve heard from her before.

Anyways back to the present now, Sophie has announced that the second single from her Straight to the Heart album will be “Off and On”, which was produced by Calvin Harris and penned by Cathy Dennis. The song was previously recorded by Roisin Murpy and both versions have been floating around on the net for ages, but I won’t post Sophie’s version since she said it’ll have a brand new mix before it’s released as a single.

Meanwhile Sophie’s current single “Bittersweet” is burning up the UK club charts as we speak and will officially be available on May 2.

