As one of pop culture’s true originators and innovators ,the iconic Grace Jones has certainly paved the way for some of today’s more fashionable female artists (Rihanna, Lady GaGa), but instead of taking the‘imitation is the highest form of flattery’ approach, Grace is just plain pissed off, as she expressed to the Guardian when asked if Lady GaGa had tried to collaborate with her.

“I just don’t play with other acts as a rule,” she says, with rare discretion.

What does she think of her? “I really don’t think of her at all. I go about my business.”

Has she copied her? “Well, you know, I’ve seen some things she’s worn that I’ve worn, and that does kind of piss me off.”

Is she talented? “I wouldn’t go to see her.”

So, did she ask to play with her? “Yes, she did, but I said no. I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.”

Grace’s comments come hot on the heels of M.I.A.’srecent statement that GaGa “models herself on Grace Jones and Madonna”.

However GaGa isn’t running from the comparisons, in fact she actually admitted that Grace is her inspiration during an interview last year.

“Grace (Jones) is such an inspiration to me, which is why with all the rumors that have flown around over the year, I was always excited because the androgyny of the woman. It’s this kind of fascinating thing that nobody understands or wants to understand unless you’re in the beautiful subculture that is my fans and the gay community.”

First M.I.A., now Grace, who’s gonna be the next one to call out GaGa? Do you think their criticism is justified?

